Current Conference

The 2017 Carolina Conference for Romance Studies will run from March 30 to April 1. Please visit this site later to see the conference program for detailed information.


Previous Conferences

Please click one of the links below to load that year’s Program.

  • 2015 CCRL Program
  • 2014 Program
  • 2013 Program
  • 2012 Program
  • 2011 Program
  • 2010 Program
  • 2009 Program
  • 2008 Program
  • 2007 Program
  • 2006 Program
  • 2005 Program
  • 2004 Program
  • 2003 Program
  • 2002 Program
  • 2001 Program
  • 2000 Program

Past keynote speakers & invited writers

2016 CCRS – 21st Annual:

Dr. Jack Halberstam (University of Southern California)

Dr. Janet Beizer (Harvard University)

Diali Cissokho of Kaira Ba (invited artist)


2015 CCRL – 21st Annual:

French: Julitte Cherbuliez, Martine Delvaux (Invited Writer)

Spanish: Gustavo Pérez Firmat

Italian: Lina Insana


2014 CCRL – 20th Annual:

Italian: Barbara Spackman, Andrea Segre (Invited Artist)

Spanish: Arturo Arias, Horacio Castellanos Moya

French: Nathalie Debrauwere-Miller


2013 CCRL – 19th Annual:

Spanish: Rosa Montero, Juan Villoro (Invited Writer)

French: Jarrod Hayes

Italian: Karen Pinkus


2012 CCRL – 18th Annual:

French: Claire Goldstein, Lori Saint-Martin (Invited Writer)

Spanish: Christopher Maurer

Italian: Roberto Dainotto


2011 CCRL – 17th Annual:

Italian: Roberta Morosini, Maria Laurino (Invited Writer)

French: Anne Deneys-Tunney

Spanish: Leonardo Padura Fuentes


2010 CCRL – 16th Annual:

Spanish: José Manuel Prieto, Manuel Muñoz (Invited Writer)

French: Réda Bensmaïa

Italian: Teresa Fiore


2009 CCRL – 15th Annual:

French: Régine Robin

Spanish: Esther Bendahan, Gioconda Belli (Invited Writer)

Italian: Robert Viscusi


2008 CCRL – 14th Annual:

French: Lise Gauvin

Spanish: John Beverley, Santiago Roncagliolo (Invited Writer)


2007 CCRL – 13th Annual:

Italian: Paul Colilli

Spanish: José Edmundo Paz-Soldán

French: Abdellatif Attafi


2006 CCRL – 12th Annual:

Spanish: Howard Mancing

Portuguese: Charles A. Perrone

French: Lydie Moudileno


2005 CCRL – 11th Annual:

Italian: Antonio Vitti

French: Amadou Koné

Spanish: Gustavo Pérez Firmat


2004 CCRL – 10th Annual:

French:  Kathryn M. Grossman

Spanish: René Prieto

Portuguese: David Brookshaw


2003 CCRL – 9th Annual:

Spanish: David William Foster

French: Mireille Rosello

Italian: Pier Massimo Forni


2002 CCRL – 8th Annual:

French: David Hult

Spanish: John Dagenais

Portuguese: A. Cristina Ferreira-Pinto


2001 CCRL – 7th Annual:

Portuguese: Renato Faria

French: Jean-Michel Maulpoix

Spanish: Rolena Adorno


2000 CCRL – 6th Annual:

Spanish: Luisa Valenzuela

Italian: Antonia Arslan


1999 CCRL – 5th Annual:

Italian: Paolo Cherchi

Spanish: Juan Villegas

French: François Rigolot


1998 CCRL – 4th Annual:

French: Marc Augé

Italian: Rebecca West

Spanish: Donald W. Bleznick


1997 CCRL – 3rd Annual:

Portuguese: Severino Albuquerque

French: Dennis Hollier, Anne Garréta (Invited Writer)


1996 CCRL – 2nd Annual:

? – Do you have a program from this year?  Please let us know!


1995 CCRL – 1st Annual:

? – Do you have a program from this year?  Please let us know!